I’ve been to Bali too.

Yeah I know, it’s not like it was back in the ’70s, man. Regardless, I had a great time and got some inspiration for my next writers group meeting. Such as:

You can smell Asia as soon as you step out of the sanitised aircraft cabin. It’s that exotic mix of tropical foods, equatorial spices, religious incenses, rice paddies, burning plastic, open drains, and human excrement all lightly steamed at 30 degrees Celsius for 365 days of the year.

Read the whole story here.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been to Bali too.

  1. Sean the smell sentence just epitomises Bali as you deplane. The spicy aroma is compelling, especially as Andrew and I were arriving from Tasmania in 1999 to get married there. We were unused to the lovely tropical lushness. Having lived on the Sunshine Coast for 17 years now, I don’t feel the need to return as we have a plethora of lovely beaches and tropical lushness without Indonesian hawkers!

Leave a Reply

